تسجيل الدخول‎
Language
‫22 يوليو 2020‬

يهتم المستهلكون عن كثب بتدابير الصحة والسلامة لبائعي التجزئة في Covid-19

BrandsEye و Bonsella يحللان التسوق من محلات البقالة خلال Covid-19

يشير تقرير جديد نشرته BrandsEye ، باستخدام رؤى المستهلكين من برنامج المكافآت Bonsella ، إلى أن المستهلكين في جنوب إفريقيا الذين يعانون من ضائقة مالية لا يهتمون فقط بالتسعير ولكن أيضًا بشأن التدابير التي يتخذها تجار التجزئة لضمان سلامة المتسوقين أثناء جائحة Covid-19.

يحلل التقرير بيانات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي في BrandsEye وبيانات استطلاع المستهلكين في Bonsella لتقييم التحولات في عادات الشراء وأولويات المستهلك خلال الوباء. Bonsella هو برنامج مبتكر لمكافآت المستهلكين يقع في 150 متجر تجزئة مستقل من المستوى 2 في جميع أنحاء جنوب إفريقيا. يكافئ البرنامج العملاء مباشرة على هواتفهم المحمولة.

وتعليقًا على النتائج ، قال الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة BrandsEye ، نيك راي: “منذ الإغلاق ، ركزت الشكاوى المتعلقة بتجار التجزئة على قضايا Covid-19 مثل تغيرات الأسعار ، ونفاد المخزون ، ونظافة المتاجر. وعلى الرغم من أن التسعير هو الشغل الشاغل للمستهلكين في تحديد مكان التسوق ، عبر جميع LSMs ، فإن الناس يدركون تمامًا تدابير السلامة والصحة التي يتخذها تجار التجزئة حول Covid-19. تؤثر هذه الإجراءات على الأماكن التي يقرر فيها الأشخاص التسوق. “

يتوقع المتسوقون بروتوكولات سلامة Covid-19 في المتجر

أراد غالبية المتسوقين الذين شملهم الاستطلاع بروتوكولات السلامة Covid-19 التي نفذها تجار التجزئة. شهدت محادثات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي حول السلامة الجسدية للفرع أو المتجر ثاني أكبر زيادة خلال الإغلاق بنسبة 11.7 نقطة ، وزادت الشكاوى حوله بمقدار 13.5 نقطة. توقع المتسوقون أن يلتزم تجار التجزئة بإجراءات التباعد الاجتماعي ويأخذون على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي الثناء على أولئك الذين يلبون توقعاتهم وينتقدون الذين لم يفعلوا ذلك.

Topics

Bonsella Survey

قال 39.1٪ من العملاء أن الأسباب الرئيسية وراء قيامهم بالتسوق في متجرهم الأساسي كانت بسبب إجراءات السلامة Covid-19 والتعقيم في المتجر.

Bonsella Survey2

كان التباعد الاجتماعي عند الخروج ، هو مقياس السلامة Covid-19 الأكثر رغبة في المتجر الذي ذكره 70.7٪ من الذين شملهم الاستطلاع. تبع ذلك المتسوقون الذين يرتدون الأقنعة (68.5٪) والموظفين يرتدون الأقنعة (57.6٪).

وفقًا لأندرو واينبرغ ، الرئيس التنفيذي لشركة Retail Engage ، التي تمتلك العلامة التجارية bonsella ، فقد حدث تحول كبير في تبني المستهلك للاحتياطات الصحية في المتاجر ، على مدار الأشهر الثلاثة الماضية. نفذت معظم المتاجر تدابير الصحة والسلامة المناسبة بسرعة كبيرة مما أدى إلى ثقة المستهلك والدعم المستمر للمحلات.

إن أكثر الموارد والمؤشرات قيمة حول “ما يحدث على أرض الواقع” هو تحليل سلوك الشراء الاستهلاكي ، إلى جانب أبحاث المستهلكين الاعتراضية ومراجعة خطوط الاتجاه التاريخية. لدى Retail Engage طاقم عمل موجود في المتاجر في جميع أنحاء جنوب إفريقيا ، وكانت ردود الفعل والاستقصاءات البحثية من هؤلاء الموظفين قيّمة للغاية.

التسعير هو العامل الحاسم للمتسوقين

اختار 81.5٪ من المتسوقين الذين شملهم الاستطلاع متجرهم الأساسي بناءً على السعر ، يليه العروض الخاصة والمبيعات (52.2٪). على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي ، كانت القدرة على تحمل التكاليف والتغيرات في التسعير موضوعات محادثة كانت لها أكبر الزيادات أثناء الإغلاق. انتقل المستهلكون إلى القنوات الرقمية للشكوى من ارتفاع الأسعار على وجه الخصوص ، مما أدى إلى زيادة 14.7 نقطة في الشكاوى حول التغييرات في التسعير وزيادة 11.6 نقطة في الشكاوى المتعلقة بالمنافسة وتحديد الأسعار.

Shift in sentiment volumes

يتسوق المستهلكون بمعدل أقل لكنهم ينفقون أكثر في كل زيارة مع زيادة قيمة السلة بنسبة 30٪

منذ بدء الإغلاق ، قام المستهلكون بزيارات أقل إلى المتاجر ولكنهم ينفقون أكثر في كل زيارة. قال بعض المجيبين على الاستطلاع أنهم كانوا يشترون البقالة بكميات أكبر لتقليل عدد الزيارات إلى المتاجر ، بينما قام آخرون بذلك بسبب القلق بشأن نفاد المخزون وارتفاع الأسعار المرتقب.

sales data

المنهجية

بيانات وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي

تم استرجاع ما مجموعه 806 682 إشارة على وسائل التواصل الاجتماعي للفترة من 16 يناير إلى 17 مايو 2020 من تجار التجزئة الرئيسيين قي جنوب افريقيا. تم إرسال 131 330 من هذه الإشارات إلى BrandsEye Crowd للتحقق مما أدى إلى هامش خطأ بنسبة 0.25٪ ضمن مستوى ثقة 95٪. تضمنت مصادر البيانات جميع الشبكات الاجتماعية الرئيسية وهي Twitter و Facebook و Instagram بالإضافة إلى العديد من المصادر الأخرى عبر الإنترنت.

بيانات المستهلك

استعاد Bonsella بيانات إنفاق المستهلكين لنفس الفترة من إجمالي 155 متجرًا لمتاجر التجزئة من المستوى الثاني في المناطق الريفية وشبه الحضرية في جميع أنحاء جنوب إفريقيا (“Bonsella universe store”). تم تجميع البيانات التي تم استردادها من خلال مستودع بيانات مركزي ، وتم الإبلاغ عن الرؤى التالية: تحليل السلة ، وحصة المنتج والفئة ، ومتوسط ​​الأسعار ، واتجاهات الشراء ، والديموغرافيا الاستهلاكية.

بيانات المسح

تم إجراء استطلاعين لأبحاث العملاء خلال الفترة من 28 مايو إلى 1 يونيو 2020 مع حجم عينة يبلغ n = 107 (استبيان سلوك الشراء) و n = 92 (استبيان اختيار البائع).

تم اختيار المستجيبين من عينتين من 2000 عميل نشط (العملاء الذين مروا بطاقة مكافآت Bonsella في آخر 30 إلى 60 يومًا). تم اختيار العينات بناءً على المؤشرات الديموغرافية لضمان عينة تمثيلية من عالم Bonsella. أي العمر - عينة عشوائية. الجنس - 70F: تقسيم 30 مليونًا

  • المستوى 1 - يشير بائعو التجزئة إلى مجموعات وسلاسل البيع بالتجزئة الرئيسية والوطنية ، أي Shoprite و Checkers و Pick n Pay و Spar و Woolworths.
  • المستوى 2 - يشير بائعو التجزئة إلى كبار بائعي التجزئة المستقلين ، مثل Save Stores و Goal و Choppies و Macksons و Checksave و In-Out.
  • المستوى 3 - يشير إلى المتاجر المستقلة الصغيرة
  • المستوى 4 - يشير إلى المتاجر غير الرسمية ومحلات البيع بالتجزئة

A complete analysis is contained in the report

We use cookies on this site to provide basic functions and to improve the experience over time by better understanding our users. 
By using this site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our cookie policy.

Log in
Language
1 July 2020

Consumers pay close attention to grocery retailers' Covid-19 health & safety measures

BrandsEye and Bonsella analyse grocery shopping during Covid-19

A new report published by BrandsEye, using consumer insights from rewards programme Bonsella, suggests South African cash-strapped consumers are not just concerned about pricing but also about the measures taken by retailers to ensure shopper safety during the Covid-19 pandemic.

The report analyses BrandsEye’s social media data and Bonsella’s consumer survey data to assess shifts in buying habits and consumer priorities during the pandemic. Bonsella is an innovative consumer rewards programme located in 150 tier 2 independent retailers across South Africa. The programme rewards customers with instant airtime to their mobile phones.

Commenting on the findings, BrandsEye chief executive, Nic Ray said: “Since the lockdown, complaints about retailers have focused on Covid-19 issues such as price changes, stockouts, and store hygiene. And while pricing is unsurprisingly consumers’ chief concern in deciding where to shop, across all LSMs, people are acutely aware of the safety and health measures retailers are taking around Covid-19. These measures are influencing where people are deciding to do their shopping.”

Shoppers expect in-store Covid-19 safety protocols

The majority of shoppers surveyed wanted Covid-19 safety protocols implemented by retailers. Social media conversations about branch or store physical safety had the second-largest increase during lockdown increasing by 11.7 points, and complaints about it increased by 13.5 points. Shoppers expected retailers to adhere to social distancing measures and took to social media to praise those that met their expectations and criticise those that did not.

Topics

Bonsella Survey

39.1% of customers said the main reasons why they shopped at their primary store was due to Covid-19 safety measures and store sanitation.

Bonsella Survey2

Social distancing at checkout-tills was the most desired in-store Covid-19 safety measure mentioned by 70.7% of those surveyed. This was followed by shoppers wearing masks (68.5%) and staff wearing masks (57.6%).

According to Andrew Weinberg, CEO of Retail Engage, which owns the bonsella brand, there has been significant shift in consumer adoption to health precautions in stores, over the last three months. Most stores implemented the appropriate health and safety measures quite quickly resulting consumer confidence and continued support of the stores.

The most valuable resources and indicator on “what is happening on the ground” is the analysis of consumer buying behaviour, combined with intercept consumer research and review of historical trendlines. Retail Engage has staff located in stores throughout South Africa, and the feedback and research surveys from these staff has been extremely valuable.

Pricing is a deciding factor for shoppers

81.5% of surveyed shoppers chose their primary store based on price, followed by specials and sales (52.2%). On social media, affordability and changes in pricing were conversation topics that had the largest increases during the lockdown. Consumers took to digital channels to complain about price-hikes in particular, leading to a 14.7 point increase in complaints about changes in pricing and an 11.6 point increase in complaints about competition and price-fixing.

Shift in sentiment volumes

Consumers shop less often but spend more per visit as basket value increased by 30%

Since lockdown began, consumers have made less frequent visits to shops but are spending more per visit. Some survey respondents said they had been purchasing groceries in larger quantities to decrease the number of visits made to the shops, while others did so because of concern over stock-outs and forthcoming price hikes.

sales data

Methodology

Social media data

A total of 806 682 social media mentions were retrieved for the period from 16 January to 17 May 2020 from SA’s major tier-one retailers. 131 330 of these mentions were sent to the BrandsEye Crowd for verification resulting in a 0.25% margin of error within a 95% confidence level. Data sources included all main social networks namely Twitter, Facebook, Instagram as well as multiple other online sources.

Consumer data

Bonsella retrieved consumer spend data for the same period from a total of 155 tier-two retail stores in rural and peri-urban areas across South Africa (the “Bonsella store universe”). Data retrieved was aggregated through a centralised data warehouse, and the following insights were reported: basket analysis, product and category share, average pricing, purchase trends and consumer demographics.

Survey data

Two customer research surveys were conducted over the period from 28 May to 1 June 2020 with a sample size of n = 107 (Purchase Behaviour Survey) and n = 92 (Retailer Choice Survey).

Respondents were selected from two samples of 2 000 active customers (customers who swiped their Bonsella rewards card in the last 30 to 60 days). The samples were selected based on demographic indicators to ensure a representative sample of the Bonsella universe. i.e. Age - random sample. Gender - 70F : 30M split

  • Tier 1 retailers refer to the major, national retail groups and chains i.e. Shoprite, Checkers, Pick n Pay, Spar, Woolworths.
  • Tier 2 retailers refer to the large independent retailers i.e. Save Stores, Goal, Choppies, Macksons, Checksave, In-Out.
  • Tier 3 refers to small independent stores
  • Tier 4 refers to informal trade and spaza shops

A complete analysis is contained in the report

We use cookies on this site to provide basic functions and to improve the experience over time by better understanding our users. 
By using this site, you acknowledge that you have read and understand our cookie policy.